SFCC Library Guide

Social Science Library Research Tips

What is my topic?

Choose what aspect or area of the broader topic you are going to write about.

Use your textbook, your class notes, or a reference book to decide.

Try looking up the general terms or your more specific term in a social science encyclopedia such as:

    The Social Science Encyclopedia R 300.321 SOCIAL 1996
    Encyclopedia of Sociology R 301.03 EN19M 1992 (4 vol.)
    Encyclopedia of Psychology R150.3 ENCYCLO 2000 (8 vol.)
    Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior R 364.03 ENCYCLO 2000 (4 v)
    The Sociology of Race and Ethnicity R 305.8009 SOCIOLO 2000 (3 v)

These encyclopedias are written by social scientists and will give you a broad view of the topic, terminology, and specific areas of research to help you select and understand the research articles you find.

How do I locate social science research articles on my topic?

Go to the library's homepage (http://library.spokanefalls.edu), then choose

    MAGAZINE/ JOURNAL/NEWSPAPER INDEXES

Click on ProQuest Direct. Click on the Advanced tab.

Type in your subject. You may need to narrow your topic using keywords

Click on Search. Choose the Scholarly tab. This will eliminate most newspaper and popular magazine articles.

How do I know if it is a research article?

The article has some of the following characteristics:

  • The structure of the article includes an introduction or abstract describing the topic of the research, followed by sections such as "methodology," "literature search," "results," "conclusions" or "findings," and a bibliography.
  • Many citations of previous research in the text.
  • A "Works Cited" or "References" list.
  • Magazine title includes "Journal of," "Proceedings," or social science terminology.

A good academic article may discuss the research without being the full report of the research.

How do I locate books on my topic?

From the library homepage choose Book & Media Catalog:

  • Click on the GUIDED KEYWORD SEARCH tab.
  • Type in your topic keywords.

Books from SCC can be requested using the REQUEST button at the top of the page and your student ID number.

Can I do my research from home?

Yes, you can use most of the databases from home, including ProQuest Direct.

  • When you click on MAGAZINE/JOURNAL/NEWSPAPER INDEXES you will be asked for an identification number.
  • Type in your student ID number and you will be allowed to enter page listing ProQuest and other databases where you can locate and print your articles.

How can I find out how to prepare a Works Cited or References page?

  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 808.02 GIBALDI 2003
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Assoc. 808.0661 PUBLICA (APA format)
  • College Writer's Reference 808.042 FULWIL 2002
  • At http://library.spokanefalls.edu/citingsources.stm you can find sites explaining format, giving specific examples, and providing a Word template.

How do I cite sources I refer to in the text of my paper?

Use parenthetical documentation at the end of the section referring to your source. For MLA style use only the author's last name and the page number inside parenthesis: (Smith 10). For more detail refer to the handbooks listed above above or go to the Online Writing Center at Purdue University: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html

Ask for help.

At any point in your research feel free to ask any of the librarians for help. They will be glad to help you decide if it is a research article or help you if you are having difficulty locating information on your subject.

If you are working from home, contact:

From the library homepage you can click on ASK US 24/7 for live online assistance from a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

 


Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/socialsciences.stm
Last modified: Thursday, August 14, 2008.