SFCC Library Guide

Social Problems

MULTIPLE TOPICS AND GENERAL INFORMATION

Reference Books

World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook R 327 WORLD 2002.
Essays and statistics on problems such as deforestation, genocide, human rights, hunger, literacy. Essays provide background, current status (research, policies), regional summaries, data, case studies, websites and documents.
World Development Indicators R 330.9172 WORLD INDICATOR yearly
Statistics and social history of developing countries. Published yearly by World Bank, very comprehensive. Online access to selected indicators from current year at: http://www.worldbank.org/data/dataquery.html
Countries and Their Cultures 2001 R 306.03 COUNTRI 4 vols.
Thorough overview from a sociological perspective. Covers topics such as ethnic relations, urbanism, economy, social stratification, gender, marriage, health.
Encyclopedia Britannica Book of the Year R 021 BRITANN yearly
Has charts comparing all the countries of the world on various measures as well a one page on each country with detailed statistical information.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. 4 vols. R 305.403 ROUTLED 2000
Organized by issue and topic then region or country, e.g. “Education: Sub-Saharan Africa”. Use index by country to locate information on specific topics.
Material World: A Global Family Portrait. R 306.85 MENZEL
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations R 910.3 WORLDMA 2001 6 vols.

Periodicals

  • Yes! A Journal of Positive Futures
  • Cultural Survival Quarterly
  • Journal of Social Issues
  • Mother Jones
  • Progressive (current issues full text online only)
  • Utne Reader

Websites

CountryWatch
Enter from SFCC library home page (http://library.spokanefalls.edu) : Magazine/Journal/Newspaper Indexes. Requires student ID number from home.
WorldWatch Institute Research Library
http://www.worldwatch.org/topics/
See topics under People, Nature, Energy, and Economy
Countries and Cultures in the drop down menu window on the INTERNET RESOURCES page http://library.spokanefalls.edu/InternetResources.
Select websites to explore, such as Portals to the World (www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html) with links to electronic resources selected by the Library of Congress subject experts.

HUMAN RIGHTS

Human Rights: The Essential Reference R 323 DEVINE
Human Rights Watch World Report R 323.4905 HUMAN R
Human Development Report 2004: Cultural Liberty in Today's Diverse World R 306.305 HUMAN 2004
Articles and statistical tables
Country Human Rights Reports
http://www.state.gov/g/drl/hr/c1470.htm
Amnesty International
http://www.amnestyusa.org/
publications and website
Human Rights Watch
http://www.hrw.org/
publications and website
World Organization Against Torture (OMCT)
http://www.omct.org/
Human Rights Network International
http://www.hrni.org/EN/default.html
International Federation for Human Rights
http://www.fidh.org/
Human Rights First
http://www.humanrightsfirst.org/
Formerly Lawyers Committee for Human Rights. See Human Rights Defenders Cases link.
Doctors Without Borders
http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org/
See also the SFCC Human Rights page
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/Human_Rights.htm

GLOBAL ECONOMY

World Development Report R 330.9172 WORLD D Yearly.
Older copies circulate and may contain essays on your topics.
World Development Indicators R 330.9172 WORLD INDICATOR
Statistics and social history of developing countries. Received yearly, very comprehensive.
Global Competitiveness Report R 338.905 GLOBAL
Comparative essays, year in review, country profiles ranking each country according to business factors such as openness, government, finance, infrastructure, technology, management, labor and institutions. Each factor is further broken down, e.g. under “Labor” factors are work ethic, average years of schooling, and collective bargaining.
Demystifying the global Economy: A Guide for Students. 337 OCONNOR 2002
Good clear introduction with resource list, websites, glossary, abbreviations, and timeline.
Globalization and Its Discontents 337 STIGLITZ 2002
Critique of globalization by a winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
In Defense of Globalization 337 BHAGWATI 2004
An economist's defense of globalization as a powerful force for social good.

ENVIRONMENT

State of the World 304.2 STATE O yearly
Have current issue plus some back years. Index to articles at reference desk. See also other WorldWatch Institute publications.
Hotspots: Earth's richest and most endangered terrestrial ecoregions OVERSIZE R 333.95 MITTERM
Huge book, huge pictures, lots of data. Ecoregions in countries such as Brazil, Chili, Ecuador, Peru, Mexico, Central America, Tanzania, Kenya, Madagascar, Sri Lanka, Philippines, China.
Greenpeace International
http://www.greenpeace.org/international_en/campaigns/
See Campaign Overviews and In Depth topics such as climate change, forests, nuclear, toxics, genetic engineering, trade & the environment.
WorldWatch Institute
http://www.worldwatch.org/topics/
See topics under People, Nature, Energy, and Economy

POPULATION

World Development Report (listed under GLOBAL ECONOMY)
WorldWatch Insitute website and publications
UNFPA: United Nations Population Fund
http://www.unfpa.org/index.htm
Information about population issues such as sustainable development and reproductive health as well as reports on projects in specific countries.
Population Reference Bureau
http://www.prb.org/
Statistical data and produces reports on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. Information and reports are listed by topic and by region. Database of statistics by country at Datafinder http://www.prb.org/datafind/datafinder5.htm
Population Action International
http://www.populationaction.org/
Reports, information, and statistics on world population, concentrating on population growth, reproductive health and family planning, population and environment, population and economic conditions, and women's health and education.

HEALTH and EDUCATION

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
http://www.cdc.gov
Encyclopedia of Sports Science R 613.71 ENCYCLO
National Institute for Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov
World Health Organization
http://www.who.int
World Education Encyclopedia: R 370.3 WORLD E 2002 3 vols.
A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide

WOMEN, CHILDREN and FAMILIES

Encyclopedia of Aging 4 v 305.2603 ENCYCLO
Check index for countries and continents
Routledge International Encylopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge 4 vols. R 305.403 ROUTLED c. 2000
Use index by country to locate information on specific topics.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family 4 v R 306.803 ENCYCLO
Check index for countries and continents.
Women in the Material World 305.4 DALUISI
Photographers interview and photograph 21 women from 21 countries. Also has topical sections such as Marriage with paragraphs and photos on several countries.

Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/socialproblems.stm
Last modified: Tuesday, February 05, 2008.