SFCC Library Guide

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/power.stm
Last modified: Thursday, October 26, 2006.

Power in a Global Age: Learning Community

Introduction

The Library offers a variety of sources for researching global issues. Some of the sources listed here may be most useful for general background information, while others may offer in depth look at a particular issue or area. We recommend you begin your research well before any deadlines, and it's a good idea to keep notes on where all your information comes from. Feel free to ask a librarian for help at any time.

This Web page is intended as a guide to:

 

Finding books & videos

The Library's online catalog lists books, videos, magazines, journals, and other items available at the SFCC or SCC. You can search by author, title, or subject. The keyword option is particularly useful if you aren't sure of a title or the exact Library of Congress subject heading.

Potentially useful headings include:

    Ideology
    International relations
    Political science
    Right and left (Political science)
    World politics

If the book you want is only available at SCC's library, you can request it. Courier service between campuses is fast and efficient for items that aren't already checked out. Items requested from SCC can generally be delivered to the SFCC circulation desk overnight (except on Fridays, with delivery on Monday).

Reference sources

Also consider general reference works, the most current of which are usually located in the Reference stacks on the first floor of the Library. While these items are generally unavailable to be checked out, you are welcome to photocopy from them. You may also wish to browse similar call numbers in the second floor stacks to find sources which can be checked out.

R 303.625
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
R 304.2
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues
R 305.403 ROUTLED
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
R 305.4203 GREENW
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
R 320 POLITIC
Political Theories for Students
R 327 World
World At Risk: a Global Issues Sourcebook

 

Newspapers, Magazines, and Scholarly Journals

Journals and Magazines

To find articles in magazines and scholarly research journals, you can browse current and back issues. However, it is more efficient to use an index. We recommend

ProQuest Direct
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp
This is our best general purpose index for a broad range of articles from 1980-present; the full text of many articles is provided online. This index is available from any campus computer; students who have Internet access from home can use this index with a current student ID number.

Locating print copies of magazines in the library

The Library subscribes to some magazines and journals in printed form. The most recent two or three issues are kept on the open shelves in the reading area (northeast corner of the library). Older issues are on the mezzanine (2nd floor) level of the library, in alphabetical order by title.



Other Online Sources

The Library subscribes to several online reference sources. All of these are available from off campus by going to the Library's web site. Off-campus users will need to enter a student ID number.

Countries and Their Cultures (Online Reference book)
Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.

Country Watch
Comprehensive, country specific information about political, economic, cultural, business and environmental information can be found in the Country Reviews. Current news wire reports can be located for each country via the Country Wire.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

CultureGrams
Information on the culture and traditions of 177 nations around the world is contained in CultureGrams. Special features include authentic recipes and short biographies of famous individuals from each county and a photo gallery.

 

World Wide Web Resources

The World Wide Web is increasingly useful for scholarly research, as long as you use it with caution.

Listed below are some sites that may be useful:

Global Issues

Global Issues That Affect Everyone
http://www.globalissues.org/
 
Global Issues
http://www.global-issues.net/
 
Global Issues on the U.N. Agenda
http://www.un.org/issues/
 
Congressional Research Reports for the People
http://www.opencrs.com/
Reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) are widely-respected for being thorough and even-handed. This site contains over 10,000 searchable reports on all manner of topics.

 

The Palestinian Question

What are the solutions to the Israeli - Palestinian conflict?
http://www.israelipalestinianprocon.org/
 
Palestine and Israel
http://www.globalissues.org/Geopolitics/MiddleEast/Palestine.asp
 
History of the Palestine Problem
http://www.un.org/Depts/dpa/ngo/history.html

 

Further Information

Discover What the World Thinks About the U.S. http://www.watchingamerica.com/index.shtml
Articles from overseas newspapers and magazines, translated into English
NewsTran
http://www.humanitas-international.org/newstran/
Another source for English translations of foreign newspapers

How to cite sources in your paper

As with any other source you use, information found on Web sites must be cited and attributed. No one really agrees yet on the best method for citing electronic and Internet sources. The two most common citation styles--the Modern Language Association (MLA) and the American Psychological Association (APA)--have been modified and adapted to keep track of Internet sources:

MLA Style

Citing Sources
A collection of links, handouts, and class guides dealing with citing print and online sources in MLA style

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
A good general purpose handout from Purdue's Online Writing Center (OWL)

APA Style

Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the APA
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

 




Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/power.stm
Last modified: Thursday, October 26, 2006.