SFCC Library Guide

Mass Media Resources

Reference Books

International Encyclopedia of Communications (R001.51 IN8)
Extensive articles on mass media topics. Topics include "Sports in the Media" "Violence" "Television History" "The Star Phenomenon" "Television News" Terrorism in the Media" "Advertising" etc. Lot of historic information and biographies of important people.
History of the Mass Media in the United States (R302.23 History)
Articles explain the legal, economic, political and technical developments that have shaped American media from 1690 to 1990. Bibliography included.
Censorship (R363.31 Censors) 3 volumes
Includes almost 1000 articles on censorship in broadcasting, publishing, film and music. Also information on the laws and people involved in censorship issues.
The Media in America (R 302.2308 Hollis)
Short articles on important events in the history of the mass media.
Women and American Television: An Encyclopedia (R791.45 Women)
Female celebrities, shows featuring women and important events that affected women in television in America.
Mass Media and the Constitution: An Encylopedia of Supreme Court Decisions (R343.43099 H642)
A summary of Supreme Court decisions to 1987.

Locating Books

Check the following subjects in the online Book & Video catalog for indepth information on issues involving mass media:

    Censorship
    Film Criticism (791.43)
    Freedom of the Press (343)
    Journalism (0.70--0.74)
    Journalistic ethics (174.9)
    Mass Media--Political Aspects (302.23)
    Privacy, Right of (323.44)
    Television Broadcasting of the News (791.45)

Locating Magazine, Journal, & Newspaper Articles

To search for articles on specific subject use Proquest, a magazine/ newspaper/ journal index. Search by subject heading for more precise searching. Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to improve results. i.e.
sex and advertising; media coverage AND stereotypes

    Celebrities
    Radio Shows
    Censorship
    Rap Music
    Journalism
    Reporters
    Journalistic Ethics
    Rock Music
    Freedom of the Press
    Stereotypes
    Mass Media
    Talk Shows
    News Media
    Televised Trials
    Privacy
    Television News
    Public figures
    Television Sports
    Public figures or celebrities and privacy

You may use Proquest Topic Guide.
Search topics such as “News Media”, “Mass Media” "Advertising" or “Advertising Media” and narrow by the subjects listed in the Topic Guide. Ask the librarian if you need help.

The following periodicals may be of interest to those working in mass media:

    Advertising Age
    Broadcasting & Cable
    Columbia Journalism Review
    Extra; The Magazine of FAIR
    Journal of Broadcasting and & Electronic Media
    Journal of Communications
    Journal of Popular Culture
    Journal of Popular Film & Television
    Journalism Quarterly
    Wired

The following often have articles about the media:

    American Spectator
    Commentary
    Dissent
    Mother Jones
    National Review
    New Republic
    Village Voice
    World-Press-Review

CQ Researcher (http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp) allows you to search broad terms such as "mass media," "journalism," "television," and "radio."

Internet Sites

American Journalism Review–News Link
http://www.newslink.org/menu.html
Links to newspapers, magazines and broadcaster's homepages. Provides access to full-text articles published in American Journalism Review and also archives of past articles. The AJR's "resources" section (left side menu) is worth checking to find additional sites of interest to journalists.

Best Information on the Net - Media Issues
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Hot/media.htm
St. Ambrose University library provides links to organizations and resources on topics such as children and the media, media ethics, television violence and web credibility.

Center for Media Literacy
http://www.medialit.org/
An organization promoting awareness and understanding of the media as a critical life skill for children and adults. Learning resources are in the library reading room. The links may also be of interest.

Fair
http://www.fair.org/
Leftish organization for fairness and accuracy in reporting. Publishes the magazine Extra. Features lots of good reporting on the media.

Media Literacy Review
http://interact.uoregon.edu/MediaLit/mlr/home/index.html
Publishes articles related to teaching media criticism. Includes links to Media Literacy Article Collection at the U. of Oregon as well as Online Article Collection (linked to other servers); of special interest are articles on "Children and Media" and "Violence, Sex and Media.

On The Media (radio program)
http://www.wnyc.org/onthemedia/
A media watchdog radio program for best access browse the archives or use search button to locate specific topics. Listen with realplayer or read transcripts.

Ownership

Columbia Journalism Review
http://www.cjr.org/tools/owners/
State of the Newsmedia
http://www.stateofthenewsmedia.org/
Analyzes media trends in all sectors, television, newspaper, radio, online and more also trends in ownership.
Merging Media
http://www.pbs.org/newshour/media/conglomeration/index.html
Background for: Online Newshour PBS broadcast.

Advertising Resources

Ad Access
Indexes images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Browse by broad subject categories or by timeline.

Adbusters
Short magazine articles about commercialism. Also includes spoof ads and anti-corporate campaigns.

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising 3 vols. (R659.103 ADVERTIS)
Valuable resource includes history, trends, techniques and campaigns. Articles include history of companies and people important in the field and topics such as alcohol advertisements, sex in advertising, and the representation of women in ads.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (R659.1097 Encycl)
Profiles 500 important marketing campaigns explaining the historical significance, target market and outcome of the campaign.

40's All American Ads (R659.1 Forties)
50's All American Ads (R659.1 Fifties)
60's All American Ads (R659.1 Sixties)
Short description of the decade along with ads arranged in broad categories Alcohol & Tobacco, Automobiles, Fashion & Beauty, Food & Beverage, Consumer Products, and others.

VALS – Marketing Survey
http://www.sric-bi.com/VALS/presurvey.shtml
Survey segments consumer marketplace on the basis of the personality traits that are believed to drive consumer behavior.

 


Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/massmedia.stm
Last modified: Thursday, January 13, 2005.