| |
In the old days, when computers were the size of large cars and occupied entire rooms, few people had access and fewer still were allowed to actually use one. The U.S. government and a handful of the more prestigious universities had computers. Otherwise, only the largest and most successful companies could afford them, and they were used for something known as "data processing."
Times have changed and now a very low-end personal computer has far more memory and power than the Apollo mooncraft, and even the smallest Mom-and-Pop businesses have one or more of them. While most companies rely on electronic communications and many are setting up Internet storefronts, the majority of business computing still revolves around the Big Three tasks: databases (inventory, billing), spreadsheets (finance and accounting), and word processing. Anyone going into business or accepting a job in a modern office is expected to have fairly sophisticated computer skills.
Most people assume this to mean familiarity with using a computer. Granted, it's important to know what button to push or which menu to select to get the job done. But real computer literacy is more than just knowing the how, but also the why and when and where. After all, computers are just tools. It's easy enough to learn how to use a hammer and chisel, but that level of knowledge and a block of marble doesn't make you a Michelangelo!
Although this class requires only limited research, you will need library skills at some point during your time at SFCC. Although libraries have become heavily computerized, there is still a time and place for old-fashioned books and magazines. As you progress through your classes here at SFCC, keep in mind that the end goal of research is finding information, whatever the format. This is a very general guide to get you started, to acquaint you with some of the tools available.
By far the most important one is the free assistance of the library staff. If you have questions or cannot find what you need, don't hesitate to ask a reference librarian for help.
Always start your research as early as you can. Sometimes our library will have what you need, but in some cases it won't. For extended papers and projects, you may need to use interlibrary loan, in which case starting early
is even more imperative. We generally like to have ten days' to two weeks'
notice to fill ILL requests.
Also, be sure to keep accurate notes on where you get your information as you
go alongnothing is more frustrating than trying to compile a list of
sources with incomplete citations!
|
 |
| |
Newspapers
Although daily newspapers are scholarly resources only in certain disciplines, the general information they have to offer can be valuable to anyone. The SFCC Library subscribes to a number of local, regional, and national newspapers. Paper copies are only kept for one to two months, but older articles can sometimes be found online through services such as ProQuest Direct (see below).
- Spokane Spokesman-Review
- Available on microfilm from July, 1989August, 1996, and (selectively) from 1986present on ProQuest Direct; there is a printed Spokesman-Review Index available from 19881993, and ProQuest Direct also offers selective indexing from 1986present.
- The New York Times
- Available on microfilm for the years 1963present; this will most useful for historical context and background, especially in conjunction with The New York Times Index, which is available from 1963present.
- The New York Times Online
- requires registration, but is highly recommended nonetheless; although the
Times is good about keeping personal data confidential, one can register
anonymously simply by making up the necessary information. The online version is best for current awareness and very recent articles; there is a subscription service for the online backfiles.
Microfilm newspapers and film reader/printers are kept behind the Reference
Desk.
Journals and Magazines
General interest magazines and scholarly journals will be essential in your
research. To find articles you can browse current and back issues. It is,
however, more efficient to use an index. Two general purpose ones which may be helpful are
- ProQuest Direct
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/ProQuest/
- This is the best general purpose index in the SFCC Library for a broad range of articles from 1986present; the full text of some articles is provided online. This index is available from any campus computer; students who have Internet access from home can use this index with a current student ID number.
- Uncover (CARL)
http://uncweb.carl.org
- The Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries (CARL) offers a free database which includes over 18,000 journals, from 1988present; this is not a subject oriented directory, but one can browse the tables of content for particular journals and perform a keyword search on the titles of nearly eight million articles. Note: Uncover does not provide the text of articles online, nor does it provide annotation. One can order articles with a credit card, but students are advised to use interlibrary loan, which is free.
There are dozens of highly specialized, subject oriented indexes. Some are print indexes while others are on CD or available online. Here are several examples, some of which may be useful in a future class:
- Agricola
http://warp.nal.usda.gov:80/ag98/
- Extensive database of citations (some with abstracts) to articles and publications on agriculture from 1970present; document delivery is available (for a fee) through the National Agriculture Library
- ERIC
http://ericir.syr.edu
- The premier index to education journals and education-related documents, 1966present; provides mostly citations and abstracts, with a very occasional document in full text
- MedLine
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/
- The world's most comprehensive index to medical journals, 1966present; provides citations and abstracts only; also covers some psychiatric, psychological, and veterinary medicine literature
Reference sources
The reference section in any library is a smaller version of the whole collection. If the library uses the Dewey Decimal system for organizing its books (like the SCC and SFCC libraries), then the reference collection will also run from 000 through 999. Reference items are usually distinguished by having an "R" or "REF" before the call number. Generally speaking, reference books fall into two categories:
- encyclopedic or comprehensive works providing an overview of one or more topics, or changeable information which needs to be current; examples include general encyclopedias such as World Book and Macmillan Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and annual compilations such as Statistical Abstract of the United States and Encyclopedia of Associations.
- indexes or guides to the main collection; examples are magazine and journal indexes (Reader's Guide, Art Index) and specialized tools or bibliographies such as Annotated Bibliography of Multicultural Picture Books for Children.
Items in a Reference collection are assumed to be available for people to refer to, and are thus not usually checked out. You can of course make photocopies if you like. You can browse similar call numbers in the circulating stacks to find sources which can be checked out.
The following are examples of books relating to computers and computer literacy in the Reference stacks on the first
floor of the SFCC Library.
Ref 004.03 Hansen
| Dictionary of Computing & Digital Media Terms & Acronyms
|
Ref 004.03 Williams
| Jargon: an Informal Dictionary of Computer Terms
|
Ref 004.603 Shafer
| Novell's Encyclopedia of Networking
|
Ref 006.6 Farace
| Digital Imaging Dictionary
|
Ref 006.703 Hansen
| Dictionary of Multimedia Terms & Acronyms
|
Finding Books & Videos
The SFCC Library shares a joint online catalog with SCC at http://ccs.wash-id.net/
The catalog lists books, videos, magazines, journals, and other items held by one or both of the two libraries. It offers the usual author, title, and subject searches, and also several keyword options. The latter are particularly useful if you aren't exactly sure of a title or an exact Library of Congress subject heading.
If the subject you enter doesn't retrieve any information, try a keyword search, which is more forgiving but which also retrieves many more irrelevant titles.
While it is possible to limit a search to one campus or the other, it isn't
necessary. Courier service between campuses is fast and efficient for items
that aren't already checked out. Items requested from SCC can generally be
delivered to the SFCC circulation desk overnight (except on Fridays, with
delivery on Monday).
|
 |
|
The Internet, especially the part known as the World Wide Web, has become
increasingly useful for scholarly research. For maximum benefit, however, you
need to recognize it is useful in several distinct ways.
Online magazine and journal indexes such as ProQuest (cited above) use the
Internet as a delivery medium; any articles you locate or retrieve through such
indexes originated in print, and were subjected to traditional editorial
oversight. These articles are as reliable and scholarly as the magazines and
journals from which they cameno more, no less.
Some Web sites, such as The New York Times Online, are firmly grounded in print, even down to the look and feel of traditional sources, but with a speedier publication cycle allowing almost continuously updated content.
Still other Web pages and sites, including some you may eventually use for
research, are unlike anything that ever appeared in print. Depending on the
site and how it is set up, the "page" you retrieve might be created as a unique
response to your query; no one else will ever see exactly the same set of data
in the same way again.
Since the Web is a new medium, using it for scholarly research requires caution.
In the first place, try to identify stable, reputable sources. Search engines return too many hits more often than too few. This is mostly due to a lack of proper indexing on the Web, and inconsistency among search
tools. An excellent site which recommends various search tools for different purposes is
Choose the Best Search Engine for Your Information Needs
http://www.noodletools.com/debbie/literacies/information/5locate/adviceengine.html
More general information on search strategies is available at
"Why Can't I Find Anything I Want on the Internet?"
http://GeorgeSuttle.com/teaching/websearching/
Look for sites that are kept up to date and which have an identifiable author
or responsible party. You should be able to locate contact information easily
(postal addresses, phone numbers, or at least an email address, ideally to
someone more specific than "webmaster"). Individual or hobbyist sites found on
free hosts like Geocities or Angelfire are often entertaining and even
authoritative for some subjects, but probably should not be your primary source.
The fastest growing segment of the Web is comprised of the well-known "dot com" sites, which generally exist to sell something. In many cases, what they sell is information. Some offer a limited set of services or data for free, and more complete packages for those willing to pay. You are best served if the free information is easily distinguishable from a sales pitch.
Last but not least, don't overlook government agencies, nonprofit
organizations, and college and university schools or departments of computer science.
Several sites offer further advice on evaluating Web sources for scholarly use:
Thinking Critically About World Wide Web Resources
http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/college/help/critical/index.htm
TeachingCritical Evaluation Skills for World Wide Web Resources
http://www2.widener.edu/Wolfgram-Memorial-Library/webevaluation/webeval.htm
As with any other source you use, information found on Web sites must be cited and attributed. No one really agrees yet on the best method for citing electronic and Internet sources. The two most common citation styles--the Modern Language Association (MLA) and the American Psychological Association (APA)--have been modified and adapted to keep track of Internet sources:
MLA Style
- Citing Sources
- A collection of links, handouts, and class guides dealing with citing print and online sources in MLA style
- Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
- A good general purpose handout from Purdue's Online Writing Center (OWL)
APA Style
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the APA
- http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html
- Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
- http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html
Suggested Sites
Finally, the following Web sites have been selected for you to use as starting points:
General Resources
- Cut-Copy-Paste
http://www.activitiesforkids.com/printout/cutcopypaste.htm
- From an educational site called Activities for Kids, this is a clear and useful description of cutting, copying, and pasting on a computer. Absolutely essential skills!
- Copying & Pasting From One Program to Another
http://www-personal.umd.umich.edu/~marcyb/106w97/copynpaste.html
- This isn't as clear as I wish it were, and it appears to be unfinished, but it's worth a look as a supplement to the above site.
- History of the Internet
http://www.isoc.org/internet-history/
- The Internet Society provides this directory of links to reliable and recommended sites dealing with the origins and growth of the Internet, some by the creators themselves.
- How Much Information Is There in the World?
http://www.lesk.com/mlesk/ksg97/ksg.html
- Prepare to have your mind boggled. This article by Matthew Lesk sounds far-fetched, but information storage really is a matter of numbers--zeros and ones, to be exact. And while it is hard for us to imagine, the leap to terabytes and exabytes of storage is likely to come much sooner than we think.
- Tech Encyclopedia
http://www.techweb.com/encyclopedia/
- This site contains around 14,000 definitions for technical and computer terms. The definitions are brief and sometimes seem to presume a level of expertise not held by non-techies. Reliable but not necessarily best for absolute beginners.
Beginners may find the Webopaedia more helpful, although the cluttered layout and commercial links tend to make it a 'noisier' site (http://www.pcwebopaedia.com/).
General Resources for Databases & Spreadsheets
- Database vs. Spreadsheet
http://businesssoft.about.com/compute/businesssoft/
library/weekly/aa070999.htm
- Basic explanation of where and when you would use a spreadsheet versus a database.
- Database/Spreadsheet Tutorials (Bowling Green State U.)
http://www.bgsu.edu/offices/its/techsupport/tutorial/dataspread.html
- Good site for tutorials on basic uses and operation of both types of program.
- Teacher Tools (from 2Learn.ca)
http://www.2learn.ca/teachertools/teachertools.html
- An excellent Canadian site which offers tutorials and user assistance on databases, spreadsheets, and more.
Database-Specific Resources
- Database Explanation for Teachers
http://169.244.159.208/teacherdatabases.htm
- Good basic introduction to the subject.
- Database Tools
http://www.2learn.ca/teachertools/Database/dbintro.htm
- Offers good general advice and explanations as well as program-specific hints, for both Macintosh and Windows.
- Microsoft Access Database Tutorials
http://www.rd-robotics.com/accesscommunity/tutes/index.html
- Access, part of the Microsoft Office package, is a medium-strength database creation and management software program, meaning it is more than adequate for most small business needs. This is a decent introduction to using Access.
Spreadsheet-Specific Resources
- Online Spreadsheet Tutorials
http://www.quasar.ualberta.ca/edpy202/tutorial/
spreadsheet/spreadsheet.htm
- A site worth bookmarking as you learn to use these versatile programs.
- Spreadsheet Tools
http://www.2learn.ca/teachertools/Spreadsheet/ssintro.htm
- Better than average information, useful for both Mac and Windows users.
- Using Spreadsheets in the Classroom
http://www.munster.k12.in.us/sprdsht.htm
- Like all programs, spreadsheets are just tools, and are best used where appropriate. This page is geared towards education, but the information is useful for anyone learning to use spreadsheets.
Resources for Users of Appleworks/Clarisworks (Macintosh)
- Appleworks & Clarisworks Tutorials
http://home.earthlink.net/~ohora/Clarisworkstutorials.html
- Appleworks (formerly known as Clarisworks) is a very popular 'all-in-one' program for the Macintosh. Although not as powerful or feature-rich as specific stand-alone programs, Clarisworks can create very satisfactory databases and spreadsheets, and offers a fine word processor as well. This site is worth bookmarking for those who like using this program. (Microsoft Works is a similar program for Windows, although not as widely known or used.)
- Appleworks Tips for Educators
http://www.apple.com/education/k12/products/
appleworks/tips/index.html
- This is Apple's own set of tips for getting the most out of Appleworks in the classroom, but could easily be adapted for other computer literacy projects.
- Appleworks Users Groups
http://www.awug.org/
- The Appleworks User's Group charges a nominal annual membership fee, but the upside is free downloading of dozens of templates and time savers. Many of these could be used in a business environment. If you don't want to join and download, you can order individual disks.
- Basic Database Using Appleworks or Clarisworks
http://home.earthlink.net/~ohora/database/index.html
- Although oriented towards users of Appleworks, this is still worth a look for general principles of making and using databases.
- Basic Spreadsheet Using Appleworks or Clarisworks
http://home.earthlink.net/~ohora/spreadsheet/index.html
- Best for Appleworks users, but worth a look for anyone just learning how to use a spreadsheet.
Writing Web Pages and Setting Up a Web Server
- Adaptive Technology for the Internet: Making Electronic Resources Accessible to All
http://www.ala.org/editions/openstacks/insidethecovers/
mates/mates_toc.html
- This is the full text of a book by Barbara Mates on accessibility issues for the disabled. Making your Web site accessible is not difficult, but does involve planning and care. For Websites operated by public institutions, it's not only ethical, it's also the law.
- Classroom Internet Server Cookbook
http://web66.coled.umn.edu/Cookbook/Default.html
- Web66 is a product of the University of Minnesota's College of Education. Here they offer a "cookbook" for setting up an Internet server. The emphasis is on servers for a school or classroom, but there is no reason it couldn't be for a business. In addition to fairly detailed instructions, they include links so that you can download the software you need for Macintosh, Windows 95, or Windows NT.
- Crash Course in HTML
http://www.w3-tech.com/crash/HTMLMenu.html
- Another online course; see if this one agrees with you.
- HTML Made Really Easy
http://www.jmarshall.com/easy/html/
- This one is also offered in Spanish.
- Introduction to HTML
http://www.cwru.edu/help/introHTML/toc.html
- There are many online guides to the HyperText Markup Language (HTML) in which Web pages are written. This one is probably as good as any.
- Web Development Tools
http://www.2learn.ca/teachertools/web/webintro.htm
- Like the other pages listed above from this Canadian educators' site, this offers more than (very good) tips for using Mac and Windows programs; the emphasis is on computing and technological tools in an educational framework, but the information could easily be applied to business use, as well.
- Web66 Network Construction Kit
http://web66.coled.umn.edu/Construction/
- This is perhaps the best place to start for those new to networks and network construction. Very gentle and even has pictures! It promises to "give you just enough information to make you dangerous." :-)
| |