SFCC Library Guide

Research Resources for Hearing Instrument Specialists

Federal Regulations

Abbreviations & Acronyms of the U.S. Government
http://www.ulib.iupui.edu/subjectareas/gov/docs_abbrev.html
FirstGov
http://firstgov.gov/
Select "advanced search" to search specific government agencies. You can also find contact information by agency at http://firstgov.gov/Contact/By_agency.shtml
Food and Drug Administration
http://www.fda.gov
Federal Trade Commission
http://www.ftc.gov
Try the Search option for topics such as “Magnuson Moss Warranty Act” and “hearing aids” (use quotation marks when searching for a phrase)
Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/about.html
Retrieve U.S. government regulations by citation or keyword.

 

State of Washington Regulations

Washington State Information
http://access.wa.gov/
Try Ask George, using the phrase “hearing aids”; for laws go directly to http://search.leg.wa.gov/pub/textsearch/default.asp and search “hearing instrument” (using the quotation marks)
Washington Department of Health
http://www.doh.wa.gov/
You may want to use Google.com to search this site.

 

General Legal Resources

FindLaw
http://www.findlaw.com
On the FindLaw home page, select Legal Websites, then Search “hearing aids” (use the quotation marks in your search)
City of Spokane
http://www.spokanecity.org/
Links to various organizations; also links to Spokane Chamber of Commerce and County government
County of Spokane
http://www.spokanecounty.org/index.htm
Department links
Spokane County Regional Health District
http://www.srhd.org
This organization is not accessible from the County web page

 

Internet Sites Related to Hearing and Audiology

Audiology Online
http://www.audiologyonline.com/
Requires free registration; access to glossary, industry articles and job links.
How the Ear Works
http://www.bcm.tmc.edu/oto/research/cochlea/Volta/index.html

 

Professional Organizations

Academy of Dispensing Audiologists
http://www.audiologist.org/
American Speech Language & Hearing Association
http://www.asha.org/
Information on hearing, balance and communication disorders.
Listen-Up Web
http://www.listen-up.org/htm/assoc.htm
List of associations & organizations

 

Reference Books

Martin, Michael. Dictionary of Hearing. [computer file]
This is an electronic book; you can browse online or register to "check out."
Revised Code of Washington Reference R 345.22 W279r v. 28A Title 18 Chapter 18:35:10
Encyclopedia of Associations Reference R016.058 Encyclo
Check "Hearing Impaired" in the index for lists of audiology associations. Includes statement of purpose, directory information, publications and membership.
Spokane Community Resource Directory (Reference Desk 362.025)
Lists local community health and social service organizations.
Washington State Yearbook (Reference Desk 320.4025)
Includes directory information and web addresses for state agencies.
Silverman, Franklin H. Fundamentals of Electronics for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists.
This is in the Reference collection at R 616.855 SILVERM
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness (Reference R 362.42032 G135)
Dated but still useful for historical background; includes an entry on "hearing aids."

 


Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/hearing.stm
Last modified: Friday, October 29, 2004.