SFCC Library Guide

Global Cinema

Books

Variety International Film Guide (Ref 791.4305 Interna) Back copies circulate.
Includes an annual review of the film industry by country, box office statistics and festival awards. Volumes include extensive biographies of the important directors. In-depth reviews of the film industry of Greece, Spain and Poland were included in recent volumes. The 2003 edition in Reference provides an index to all director biographies. Biographies are more extensive than internet resources.
Search by subject Motion pictures [country name]
e.g. Motion Pictures Iran Call # 791.430__
Oxford History of World Cinema (791.4309 Oxford)
Worldwide in scope covers countries, genres and prominent directors.
Film: An International History of the Medium (791.4300 Sklar)
 
Film: The Critics Choice; 150 Masterpieces of World Cinema. (791.4575 Film)
 

Articles on International Film

Proquest is a general magazine/journal/newspaper article index available at http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp. If you try this address from home, you will need to enter your student id # with no dashes.

Under Search Method choose Guided, and use keywords for best results.

Sample search:
	motion picture industry OR film industry 
AND	Italy    

You may wish to limit Collections to Arts module and New York Times:

Click on Collections and expand +Proquest General Reference and +Proquest Newspapers

Search for film reviews by typing the film title in quotes.

Internet Resources

Art and Culture
http://www.artandculture.com/
Lists international film prominent foreign directors biographies are listed alphabetically, by country or by time period. Biographies link to other quality biographical websites and to information on film movements. Unfortunately, site is not useful for very current information.
All Movie Guide
http://www.allmovie.com/
Quick browse lists Major Films by country. Check essays link for British, French, German, and Italian cinema with along with essays on genres such as “martial arts” “war films” and “film noir.” .
Internet Movie Databases
http://imdb.com
Best site for film reviews search by title and click external reviews. Use Browse tab to search for films listed by country. Good source for current director biographical information.
Google Directory
http://directory.google.com/Top/Arts/Movies/Cultures_and_Groups/
Information on movies by country or culture group
Foreign Films.com
http://www.foreignfilms.com/countries.asp
Registered site users rate and comment on foreign films. Write a review or rate your favorite foreign film here but for professional reviews consult IMDB http://imdb.com
About World Film
http://worldfilm.about.com/
Links to motion picture criticism and directory biography by country unfortunately there are lots of commercials.



Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/globalcinema.stm
Last modified: Thursday, July 24, 2003.