SFCC Library Guide

Gender: a List of Reference Sources

Spokane Falls Community College Library

GENERAL WORKS

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge 4 vols. R 305.403 ROUTLED c. 2000
Organized by issue and topic. Covers issue in general then has article on regions of the world, e.g. “Education: Sub-Saharan Africa”. Use index by country to locate information on specific topics.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family 4 vols. R 306.803 ENCYCLO 2003
Excellent summary articles on all aspects; readable but reports on research studies; extensive up-to-date bibliographies. Check index for countries and continents.
Encyclopedia of American Social History 3 vols. R301.0973 ENCYCLO
Vol. 3 Part XI “Family History” has overview articles on topics such as Adolescence, Childhood and Family Structures. Looks at the current situation in terms of history.
The International Encyclopedia of Sexuality 4 vols. R 306.703 INTERNA
Has comprehensive entries for 32 countries covering topics such as courtship, marriage and family, divorce, prostitution, teenage pregnancy, etc. Also has general entries comparing countries on major topics.
American Men and Women: Demographics of the Sexes R 305.3097 AMERICA c. 2000
Readable charts and graphs of statistics broken down by sex and age.

SPECIFIC ASPECTS

Encyclopedia of Criminology & Deviant Behavior 4 R 364.03 ENCYCLO 2001
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behaviors 4 v R 362.2903 ENCYCLO 2001
Sociology of Race and Ethnicity R 305.80009 SOCIOLOG
Encyclopedia of Violence: Origins, Attitudes, Consequences R 303.603 DICANIO
Lesbian Histories & Culture; Gay Histories & Culture 2 v R 306.766 ENCYCLO 2000

CROSS CULTURAL WORKS

Women's Rights: A Global View R 305.42 WOMENS 2001
Individual chapters on Argentina, Bolivia, China, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, European Union, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Nigeria, Ojibwe, United States, Zimbabwe.
Countries and Their Cultures 2001 R 306.03 COUNTRI 4 vols.
Thorough overview from a sociological perspective. Covers topics such as ethnic relations, urbanism, economy, social stratification, gender, marriage, health.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life R 305.8003 WORLDMA
Good overview of country. Check sections on interpersonal relations, family life, social problems. Also has entries for major cultural groups.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures R 306.097 EN19
See Vol. l, North America for information about American ethnic groups. Excellent anthropological description of culture in each continent. Entries vary in length, but usually have sections on kinship and marriage and the family. See maps in front and Ethnonym Index in back for name of culture.
Marriage, Family and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia R 306.803 BROUDE
Arranged by topic, selects examples from all over the world to compare attitudes and behaviors. Use index to locate information on specific cultures and countries.
Material World: A Global Family Portrait R 306.85 MENZEL
Photographers cover all parts of the world but not all countries. Photograph of typical family in front of their home with all major family belongings. Describes and photographs the family.
Families of the World: Family Life at the Close of the 20th Century 2 vols. R 306.85 TREMBL
Photographs of families with a timeline of how family members spend the day. Covers North and South America, Oceania, Asia.
A History of the Family V. 2: The Impact of Modernity. 306.8509 HISTORY
Articles on the family in the 20th century in different parts of the world, e.g. “India: The Family, the State, and Women”.
Women in the Material World 305.4 DALUISI
Photographers interview and photograph 21 women from 21 countries. Also has topical sections such as Marriage with paragraphs and photos on several countries.
World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook R 327 WORLD 2002.
Includes an essay on women (p. 604). Essays provide background, current status (research, policies), regional summaries, data, case studies, websites and documents.

Area Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Check the reference area for encyclopedias on your country or region. Look for major articles on topics such as Women, Marriage, Family. Examples:

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. R 909.9076 OXFORD 4 vols.
.
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. R 952.003 JAPAN 2 vols.

MAGAZINE ARTICLES

From the SFCC Library home page go to Magazine / Journal / Newspaper Indexes. Click on ProQuest Direct and then the ADVANCED SEARCH tab. If you are researching another country or an ethnic group, use the name of your country or ethnic group as one search term. (You may want to select the field LOCATION from the list at the left). Use your topic as a second search term on the next line. Full text articles from ethnic publications are included in this database.

BOOKS & VIDEOS

Do a subject search on the name of your country and check subheadings such as Social Life and Customs. Watch for series such as Culture and Customs of …, Culture Shock! (more superficial).

Also try a Guided Keyword Search using the name of your country and “women”.

An interesting video is In My Country (395 IN MY C) interviews with couples from different countries about dating, marriage, gender roles, etc.

INTERNET SITES

Public Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org
Check for relevant topics such as abortion or gay rights under Issue Guides, which give overviews of issues and points of view on them and as well as related sites. The heart of the site is statistics on public opinion on specific issues.

Human Rights: Women

Defending Women Defending Rights
http://www.defendingwomen-defendingrights.org/
International women human rights defenders campaign. See Action Alerts.
Women's Rights (Human Rights Watch)
http://www.hrw.org/women/
Women's Rights are Human Rights
http://www.unhchr.ch/women/
United Nations site: Issues in focus: Violence against Women, Racial Discrimination, Trafficking in Persons, Reproductive Rights, Traditional Practices, HIV/AIDS
Female Circumcision
http://www.amnesty.org/ailib/intcam/femgen/fgm1.htm  
Amnesty International site.
Female Genital Mutilation
http://www.ranzcog.edu.au/Open/womens-health/fgm/fgm.htm
Health professional information.
Intercultural Sites
Check the sites listed on the library homepage under INTERNET RESOURCES – Cultures and Countries.
Country Watch
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp#CountryWatch
Great for basic information on the country and detailed information on the economy related information such as Health, Education, Environment.

Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/gender.stm
Last modified: Tuesday, January 18, 2005.