SFCC Library Guide

Fashion Resources

Reference Books

Contemporary Fashion (R746.9209 Contemp)
Biographies of designers. Includes a bibliography fo books and articles written about each designer.
Who's Who in Fashion (R746.9209)
Short biographies some with pictures.

 

Circulating Books

Check the subject headings

  • Costume design
  • Fashion
  • Fashion designers
  • Fashion history
  • Fashion merchandising

Browse call numbers around 391 and 746.9209 for titles such as:

Christian LaCroix (forward by Grace Mirabella) 746.9209 Lacroix
10 Years of Dolce & Gabbana 746.92092 Dolce
Quite a picture book. Some of them a little risqué.
Valentino's Magic 749.92 Valenti
I thought it was about the silent film star until I saw the pictures.
The Naked and the Dressed: 20 Years of Versace by Avedon 779.9746 Versace
Another great picture book.
Dolce & Gabbana 746.92 Sozzani
Dolce & Gabbana: Wildness 746.9209 Dolce
Just animal prints.
Haute Couture & Pret-a-Porter:Mode 1750-2000 391.009 Haags
The costume collection of the Municipal Museum of The Hague claims to be a collection of “scientific & social significance.”
The Givenchy Style 746.9209 Mohrt
Includes the house & gardens and some fashions.
The Art of Haute Couture 779.9746 Skrebne
Short biographies of designers. Mostly great pictures.
Universe of Fashion: Dior 746.9209 Dior

 

Magazine/Journal/Newspaper Articles

Use Proquest Direct to search for articles. Sample searches:
    Wang Vera (personal name)
    Klein AND advertis?
    Vogue (publication title) AND shoes

 

Internet Resources for fashion

About Designers
http://fashion.about.com/cs/designers/
A compilation of links to designers and fashion sites.
Lumiere
http://www.lumiere.com/
Online fashion magazine
Fashion Net
http://www.fashion.net/
Very short designer biographies and connections to designer homepages also links to stores, jobs and fashion news.
Style.Com
http://www.style.com
Links to online version of W, Vogue and other Conde Nast publications. View samples from various designers.
Angel of Fashion
http://www.fashionangel.com/linkpages/
An evaluative directory of fashion sites that are awarded the “angel of fashion” for innovation and creativity. The site links to alternative fashion sites, e-zines, designers, modeling, and more.
FirstVIEW: Collections Online
http://www.firstview.com/home.html
This is the premiere Internet publication for fashion show photographs from both the haute couture and ready-to-wear collections shown in Paris, New York, Milan, and London. The most current shows are available only by expensive subscription. More reasonable hourly rates are available one month after the collections are made available to regular subscribers. FirstVIEW includes between 60 and 200 photographs of each designer's show and images of the older shows (1995–98) are free.
Fashion Windows
http://www.fashionwindows.com/default.asp
Divided into four main areas: mannequins, visual merchandising, windows, and fashion designers. Each section has a selection of articles on various topics such as selecting a mannequin or positioning a mannequin. Of special interest is the windows section, which include examples of successful window displays. This site also includes a discussion forum and newsletter that can be subscribed to via e-mail. Very newsy and quite current.

 

Much of this information comes from an ACRL FashionGuide: http://www.ala.org/acrl/resapr99.html

 


Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/fashion.stm
Last modified: Wednesday, February 05, 2003.