Library Guide to Education Resources
REFERENCES FOR BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH

Encyclopedia of Educational Research (R150.3 Encyclo) 4 volumes

Reviews research done in all areas of education. Bibliographies include important papers and studies and includes articles on "Learning Disabilities," "Early Childhood Education," "Curriculum Theory," "Discipline," "Parent Education" and many other topics.

Encyclopedia of American Education (R370.973 UNGER) 3 volumes

Short entries define educational terms and provide short histories. Most entries have bibliographic references for further research.

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children (R372.2107 Handboo)

Provides an extensive review of research in the areas of child development, curriculum for young children, and educational policy in early childhood education.

Digest of Educational Statistics (R370.973 Digest)

Statistical information on all levels of education also includes employment and income by educational achievement. International comparisons in the area of education are included. Available on the Internet at: http://www.ed.gov/NCES/

Books

Choose the Books/Media Catalog selection on the SFCC library homepage. Some useful subjects are:

Competency Based Education Early Childhood Education
Mainstreaming in Education Education, Secondary Teaching
Education, Primary Teachers Multiculturalism in Education

Check the homepage for the EWU/WSU http://griffin.ewu.edu library book catalog. Books may be borrowed from those libraries. Check with the librarian at the reference desk.

Magazines and Journal Articles

Choose Magazine/Journals on the SFCC library homepage. Enter the ProQuest database. You will be searching a general periodical index of about 3,000 magazines, newspapers and scholarly or technical journals. This index covers a variety of topics. Some useful subjects for education are:

Preschool education Curricula
Teaching and teacher education
Day care centers
Child development

Eric-Education Index

Educational Resources Information Center database consists of professional journal articles and unpublished research document for all areas of education. To connect to ERIC use the library homepage. Use the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (Reference Desk) to choose the best words to use for your search.

Sample search:

EDUCATIONAL VOUCHERS or SCHOOL CHOICE and EQUAL EDUCATION

Through the U.S. Department of Education you may enter other recent research publications.

Important Education Resources

The United States Department of Education Links to education programs, policies and research at the federal level.  There are several publications with U.S. and international statistics on education.

National Center for Educational Statistics

Galaxy Education links to topics in education at all levels.

Early Childhood Education

Clearinghouse on Elementary and Early Childhood Education Clearinghouse for early childhood research.

Early Childhood.Com Lesson Plans, articles and discussion on early childhood issues.

Special Needs Education

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation (R362.403 Encyclo) Articles on disabilities and rehabilitation philosophy and therapies.

Internet Resources for Special Children Provides news and disability links.

Special Needs Education Project Canadian site links to resources on a large number of disabilities and special needs.

[_private/navigation.htm] bot="Include" endspan i-checksum="65100"