Library Guide to Deaf Culture

Library Guide to Researching Topics on Deaf Culture and Deaf Education


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness (R362.42032)

Use the index in volume 3 to locate articles.

Encyclopedia of Educational Research (R370.78 Encyclo)

Includes articles on "Hearing Impairment" and "Deinstitutionalization and Mainstreaming."

ASL Dictionary- http://dww.deafworldweb.org/asl

Animated ASL Dictionary -http://www.bconnex.net/~randys/
Not complete by any means, but they include many basic signs - in moving pictures.


Books

Select the Book/Media Catalog from the SFCC Library homepage.


Finding Articles in Magazines and Journals

If you are on campus select Magazines/Journals from the SFCC Library homepage.

Enter your search in the box using keywords and phrases.
Combine terms by using AND,
for example:deaf AND hearing impaired

Searches for articles both deaf and hearing impaired

Click Search Assistant for help in searching for specific authors, titles, dates, publications, names etc.

Truncate words with a question mark (?) to find varied endings.

For example, manag? finds manager, managing and management.

Combine keywords with OR to retrieve synonyms.

For example, teen? OR adolescent

Finds all the words teens, teenagers, or adolescents

Subject headings used are:

  • Deafness
  • Hearing aids
  • Mainstreaming
  • Sign Language

ERIC - Education Research

For topics in the field of deaf education you may want to consult the ERIC index to published and unpublished education research. Find ERIC from the SFCC homepage by clicking on Education under Subjects Frequently Requested or open at http://ericir.syr.edu/Eric.

Locating Periodical Articles

Check the green SFCC Library Periodicals to see if SFCC owns the journal or magazine. If not the article or document may be obtained via interlibrary loan. Ask at the Reference/Information desk for assistance.

SFCC Library subscribes to the following periodicals, which often have articles on deafness, hearing impairment and related education topics.

American Annals of the Deaf
Deaf American
Deaf Life
Journal of the American Deafness & Rehabilitation Association
Journal of Speech and Hearing Research
Teaching Exceptional Children


Internet Resources

Check Subjects Guides on the SFCC Library homepage for connections to:

DEAF CULTURE

Gallaudet University - http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/InfoToGo/index.html

Deaf Education - http://www.educ.kent.edu/deafed/ Links to deaf education topics.

Deaf Washington Directory- http://dww.deafworldweb.org/int/us/wa/
A list of Washington State sites with webpages.

Cindys Homepage on ASL and  Deaf Culture - http://www.aslinfo.com

Deaf Zone - http://www.deafzone.com Includes sports, clubs, news and interperter links.

Vicki Lowen Homepage - http://pw2.netcom.com/~zesa1/deaf.html - Personal homepage with lots of good links.

Feel free to consult the librarian at any stage during your research.


Library Home | Catalog | Other Libraries | Journals | Core Book | Subject Guides | Internet Resources | Info

For general information contact SFCC Reference Desk