SFCC Library Guide

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/countries.stm
Updated: Thursday, April 05, 2007.

Country Information


Introduction

Before beginning to research a culture, keep in mind these questions: Am I researching a country, a continent or a culture? A country such as Mexico, Guatemala or South Africa has many cultural groups with differing customs, religions and sometimes languages.

Finding books & videos

To locate books on your culture use the SFCC/SCC Book-Media Catalog - http://ccs.wash-id.net/ / Search by the specific name of your culture, the country, or the region. When searching by country you may need to use subheadings to locate the books on culture as opposed to history or politics:

    Economic Development
    Poverty Developing countries
    Environmental Policy
    Globalization

Circulating Books

There are several series which might be helpful. Not all countries are included. Search the online catalog for

  • Food Culture Around the World series
  • Culture and Customs series
  • Cultural Atlas of … series
Insight Guides
Located in the SFCC Library in the call number area 914-918. To locate a guide for your country use keyword search: Insight guides Country name For example:
insight guides france

 

General Reference Sources

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life (R 305.8003 WORLDMA)
The most extensive source on customs, traditions and all aspects of daily life.

Countries and Their Cultures (R 306.03 COUNTR)
Arranged by country name overview of social stratification, food, gender roles, marriage, kinship relations, customs, holidays religion and arts. Also available online at http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp

Culturegrams: The Nations Around Us (R 306 Culturg)
A guide by country to diet, personal appearance, general attitudes, gestures, recreation and lifestyle. Not every country is covered. Also available online at http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (R306.097 EN19)
A comprehensive anthropological work of demography, history and cultural practices of living and extinct cultures. Volume on North America is good for Native Americans and other American ethnic groups.

Greenwood Encyclopedia Women's Issues Worldwide (R 305.4203 GREENWO 2003)
Organized by country, broad issue coverage. Lists organizations and websites, bibliography.

World Development Indicators World Bank (R 330.9172 WORLD B)
The World Bank's online site (http://worldbank.org/data/dataquery.html) links to online data and maps.

Worldwatch Institute State of the World (304.2 STATE O)

 

Specific Countries & Cultures

There are a number of reference books with cultural information on specific cultural groups or regions.

Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia (R 952.003 JAPAN)
Well illustrated. Useful for specific topics such as Buddhism. Nice entry under "Family."

Cambridge Encyclopedia of China (R 951.003 C144)
One example of an excellent series. Chapters on topics such as "The Social Order" that has a great section on the individual, family and community (p112). We also have Japan, India, Latin America, etc.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism (R 294.303 ENCYCLO)
Entries for specific countries. Illustrated.

Atlas of the Islamic World (R 909.0492 ROBINSO)
Nice illustrations and is not difficult reading. Start with the table of contents: this one has sections on "Belief and Practice"and "Society and the Modern World." Similar books by this publisher include Cultural Atlas of France, Cultural Atlas of Japan, etc

Latin American History & Culture (R980.03) 5 volume set.

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara (R967.003) 4 volume set

Databases & Periodical Indexes

Indexes available at the SFCC Library are listed on the Magazine/Journal/Newspaper Indexes page--http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp. In particular, we recommend:

Proquest
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp
(Mostly) full text of articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. The Advanced Search allows the most flexibility in searching. Use Boolean AND & OR for keyword searching.

Country Watch
http://www.countrywatch.com/ip
Comprehensive, country specific information about political, economic, cultural, business and environmental information can be found in the Country Reviews®. Current news wire reports can be located for each country via the Country Wire®. Contact the SFCC Reference Desk (533-3834) for off campus access to this database.

CultureGrams
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.stm
Information on the culture and traditions of 177 nations around the world is contained in CultureGrams. Special features include authentic recipes and short biographies of famous individuals from each county and a photo gallery.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.stm
See outline of main entry for country & Best of Web

 

Internet Resources

In general the Reference books listed above are better for cultural and economic information than Internet resources, but the following sites may have useful facts and brief background reports on particular countries.

Your Nation
http://www.your-nation.com/
Compares nations one factor at a time using CIA World Factbook.

Country Watch
http://www.countrywatch.com/ip
Description above. Good current information and news.

CultureGrams
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp
Description above. Good current information and news.

U.S. Aid Agency
http://www.usaid.gov
U.S. view on foreign economic and social problems. Country Locator link to individual country information.

Background Notes; U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

CIA World Factbook
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
Latest facts and figures.

Recipe Source
http://www.recipesource.com/
Recipes from around the world.

Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/countries.stm
Last modified: Thursday, April 05, 2007.