|
|
|
URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu
/guides/companyinfo.stm
Last modified:
Tuesday, January 15, 2008.
|
Company Research |
 |
Introduction |
|
The Internet has made the task of researching companies much easier than it used to be. Searches that would once have required a visit to a large university library can now be replicated almost entirely online. The "almost" is significant, because while there is a wealth of information available online for free, most business and financial information is available only for a fee. Think about it: compiling current, accurate information is an expensive chore. No one is likely to do it unless they can make a profit.
This Web page is intended as a guide to:
|
 |
| |
Easier:
National Companies
Larger Companies
Public Companies
|
|
|
Harder:
Local Companies
Smaller Companies
Private Companies
|
|
BIG hint from the librarians
<---
much easier to research
much harder to research
--->
|
|
Books
The following titles are located in the Reference stacks on the first floor of the Library. You are welcome to photocopy from them. You may also wish to browse similar call numbers among the circulating books to find titles which can be checked out.
R 331.13 WASHING QUARTER
|
Washington Labor Market Quarterly Review
|
R 332.67 STANDARD
|
Industry surveys
These Standard & Poors publications contain information not freely available on the Internet. The focus is on industries and categories of business more than individual companies. |
R 338.7025 D&B REG
|
Dun & Bradstreet regional business directory
|
R338.74 Hoovers 2007 (2 Vol.)
|
Hoovers Handbook of American Business
Check the index of brands in Vol. 2 if you aren't sure of the parent company.
The print volumes include information that may be locked at the Internet site
http://www.hoovers.com |
Reference Desk 338.767 BOOK
|
Journal of Business Book of Lists
Annual listing of the top local firms |
R 658.834 LIFESTY 2006
|
Lifestyle Market Analyst (Standard Rate and Data Service)
|
R 658.834 HOUSEHO 2006
|
Household Spending
|
R 658.8348 MILLENN 2006 |
The Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
|
R 658.8348 GENERAT 2006
|
Generation X: Americans Born 1965 to 1976
|
|
 |
Newspapers, Magazines, and Scholarly Journals |
|
Journals and Magazines
- ProQuest
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp
- This database is available from any campus computer; students who have Internet access from home can use this index with a current student ID number. Search specifically by company name or by SIC code for industry information. ProQuest indexes articles from a variety of publications, including the Spokesman Review, The Spokane Journal of Business, and other local Washington and Oregon newspapers.
- MarketLine
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp
- The MarketLine Business Information Center is a research tool to gain a greater understanding of different markets and the issues major companies are facing. It presents in-depth professional analysis in an easy-to-digest format, covering companies, industries and countries.
- Consumer Behavior 2007
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/_auth/journal.asp
- A PDF reference book with detailed information on consumer demographics, intentions, trends, actions, socially conscious consumerism, and more, by various demographic criteria.
- Business and Company Resource Center
http://www.spokanelibrary.org/research/electronicresources.asp#Business
- This database is available through the Spokane Public Library. You must have a Spokane Public Library card to log in.
Business and Company Research Center contains a variety of full-text information, from company histories to financial data to recent news articles.
Locating magazines in the library
The most recent two or three issues of periodicals are kept on the open shelves in the northeast corner reading room. Older issues are upstairs on the South Library mezzanine.
|
 |
World Wide Web Resources
|
|
|
The World Wide Web is increasingly useful for scholarly research, as long as
you use it with caution.
Try to identify stable, reputable sources. Start with ones we have already
selected for you (listed below). If you want to search the Web yourself, here
is an excellent site which recommends various search tools for different
purposes:
-
Choose the Best Search Engine for Your Information Needs
-
tp://www.noodletools.com/debbie/literacies/information/5locate/adviceengine.html
General information on search strategies is available at
-
"Why Can't I Find Anything I Want on the Internet?"
-
http://GeorgeSuttle.com/teaching/websearching/
Listed below are some sites that may be useful:
Larger, National, or Public Companies
- EDGAR (the S.E.C.)
http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm
- Find a company's Annual Report (10-k) or Quarterly Report (10-Q).
- Report Gallery
http://www.reportgallery.com/
- Find companies' annual reports
- Virtual Chase
http://www.virtualchase.com/coinfo/
- This site is subtitled "Teaching Legal Professionals How To Do Research." This site has some good tips and ideas, as well as links to a variety of Web sites which might be helpful.
- Washington Post Special Report: Company Research
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/business/companyresearch/
- This will most helpful in researching larger public companies, but there is some information regarding private ones as well.
Researching Smaller, Local, or Private Companies
- Spokane Chamber of Commerce
http://www.thechamber.net/spokane/membmain.htm
- Type your company's name in the "Business" line.
- Google Search Engine
http://www.google.com/
- Remember to use the exact name of the company in question and enclose the name
in quotes. For example type in "Rosauer's Food and Drug" not Rosauer's or
"Rosauer's Grocery"
More on Business Research
- Seaching for Company Information
http://www.nypl.org/research/sibl/company/c2index.htm
- from the New York Public Library
- Researching Companies Online
http://www.learnwebskills.com/company/index.html
- "a step-by-step process for finding free company and industry information on the World Wide Web"
- Company Research
http://iws.ohiolink.edu/companies/
- Another good overview with step by step instructions
| |
How to cite sources in your paper |
|
Whatever sources you use must be cited and attributed. Electronic and Internet sources are particularly troublesome because they can change and disappear. MLA style, developed by the Modern Language Association, is one format which has been adapted and modernized to include online sources:
MLA-Style Guides to Internet Citation
- Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html
- The Purdue Online Writing Center's guide to MLA format is highly recommended.
- MLA-style Citations for ProQuest articles
http://library.spokanefalls.edu/proquestMLA.stm
- Citing articles obtained though the ProQuest service requires a particularly long and detailed citation. This pages shows how to do it.
For authoritative information on MLA style, please consult MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed., available at 808.027 GIBALDI 2003. There is also a copy at the Reference Desk.
|
|
For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk
URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/companyinfo.stm
Last modified: Tuesday, January 15, 2008.
|