SFCC Library Guide

 

Contemporary Artists


Introduction

The following artists are representative of work currently being done in the United States and abroad. Each entry includes links to samples of their work, and suggested bibliographic references. These are not comprehensive guides.

For all artists be sure to check art reference books such as:

  • The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes) R 703 DICTION
  • Contemporary Artists (starting with most current volume) R 709.22 CONTEMP
Also, check the online art dictionary: http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

To locate further information, please ask a reference librarian for assistance.

Artists currently included here:

If you are looking for information on artists not included here, or would like to suggest one to include, please let us know.

 

Nam June Paik

The Worlds of Nam June Paik. (Book) 700.924 PAIK HANHAR

Nam June Paik:Global Groove (Book) 700.92 Paik

Nam June Paik (Book) 700.92 paik

Video Art: An Anthology. 791.45 V668 p. 98-99

Breakthroughs: Avant Garde Artists in Europe and America 1950-1990. 709.04 B74 P. 92-97, 141-143

Allan 'N' Allen's complaint [videorecording] MV 1694
30 min video art piece by Paik

Fluxfilm Anthology (videorecording) MV 12188
30 short films, one by Paik

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 585-588, 590, 594, 600

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plate 406 (p. 366)

Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 457 p. 412

Nam June Paik on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/paik_nam_june.html

Nam June Paik
http://www.geocities.com/namjunepaik/
What appears to be the artist's own site, this requires the Flash plug-in

The Worlds of Nam June Paik
http://guggenheim.org/exhibitions/past_exhibitions/paik/paik_top.html
from a 2000 exhibit at the Guggenheim Museum

"Do You Know?"
http://www.si.umich.edu/Art_History/UMMA/1976/1976_2.123.jpg

"Something Pacific"
http://stuartcollection.ucsd.edu/paik/index.html

"A Video Visionary"
http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian/issues97/oct97/hilits_oct97.html

 

Up to Index

 

Judy Pfaff

"Judy Pfaff: life and limb."
Art in America. Oct 1998, pp 100-5.

"Poetry out of chaos: a conservation with Judy Pfaff."
Sculpture. Feb 1998, pp 22-7.

"Judy Pfaff at Bellas Artes."
Art in America. Jan 2001, pp 120-1.

"Feet first (Etching, encaustic on crown kozo paper, 1999)."
Art in America. Sept 2000, p 68.

"Judy Pfaff--Karen McCready Gallery."
Sculpture. June 1999, pp 72-3.

"Six of one . . ; Augmented title: a half-dozen woodcuts by Judy Pfaff."
Arts Magazine. Nov 1988, pp 29-30.

Judy Pfaff (Book) 709.2 pfaff sandler
Sandler, Irving. Art of the Postmodern Era: From the Late 1960s to the Early 1990s. Plate 2, following p. 322. 709.045 SANDLER

Making Their Mark: Women Artists Move Into the Mainstream 1970-85. 3 reproductions pp. 162-163. 704.042 M289

Las Manos
http://www.microsoft.com/mscorp/artcollection/exhibitions/powers/97130.htm

Biography and "Yoyogi, State II"
http://www.artgallery.sbc.edu/highlights/pfaff.html




 

Up to Index

 

Susan Rothenberg

Susan Rothenberg 759.13 ROTHENB SIMON

Susan Rothenberg: Paintings from the Nineties 759.13 rothenb brutvan

Breakthroughs: Avant Garde Artists in Europe and America 1950-1990 709.04 B74 p. 143-149

Making Their Mark: Women Artists Move into the Mainstream, 1970-85 704.042 M289 p.50-53

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 1 p. 382-383

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plates 140, 141 (p. 132-133)

Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 351 p. 324

Susan Rothenberg on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/rothenberg_susan.html

"Up Down Around Rothenberg, 1985-1987"
http://www.usc.edu/schools/annenberg/asc/projects/comm544/library/artists/RothenbergSusan.html

"Red Horse" and "Untitled"
http://www.uwrf.edu/history/prints/women/rothenberg.html

Susan Rothenberg: Three Paintings
http://www.speronewestwater.com/cgi-bin/iowa/artists/related.html?record=18&info=works

 

Up to Index

 

Nancy Rubens

Collage Paintings
http://www.rlrubens.com/nancyrubens.html

Nancy Rubens
http://www.markartgallery.com/rubens.html

Nancy Rubens
http://www.claudiakandelgallery.com/photo.htm


 

Up to Index

 

Betye Saar

Making Their Mark: Women Artists Move Into the Mainstream 1970-85. 4 reproductions p. 126-128 704.042 M289

The Decade Show 709.04 DECADE Plate LXXI

Mixed Blessings 704.0693 L664M Plate 11; p. 234

Bearing Witness: 704.042 BEARING p. 151

Lucie-Smith, Edward. ArToday 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 491

The Long Memory
http://www.nmwa.org/shop/prints/psaar.htm

Nine Mojo Secrets
http://www.caam.ca.gov/edu/glass.html#saaar

House of Ancient Memory
http://www.artsconnected.org/artsnetmn/inner/saar.html

The Liberation of Aunt Jemima
http://www.getty.edu/artsednet/images/X/jemima.html


 

Up to Index

 

David Salle

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 1 p. 383-384

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plate 124 (p. 116-117)

Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 333 p. 308

David Salle on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/salle_david.html

Collection of small paintings
http://www.brunobischofberger.com/salle.htm

"Sextant in Dogtown"
http://www.whitney.org/american_voices/270/index.html

Two paintings
http://www.guggenheim-bilbao.es/ingles/exposiciones/salle/exposicion.htm

 

Up to Index

 

Cindy Sherman

Cindy Sherman: Retrospective (Book) 779.092 sherman

Cindy Sherman: the complete untitled film stills (Book) 779.24 sherman

Chadwick, Whitney, and Dawn Ades. Mirror images : women, surrealism, and self-representation 704.042 MIRROR pages 69, 137,140-141, plate 26

Chris Burden /Cindy Sherman. Places with a past: new site-specific art at Charleston's Spoleto Festival 709.04 Places

Women Photographers. 779.082 p. 200 (plate)

Fashion. 779.2 FASHION p. 231 (plate)

Making Their Mark: Women Artists Move into the Mainstream, 1970-85. 704.042 M289 p. 138-139, 140

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 676-77

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plates 2-6, 41, 230, 347

Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 520, p. 466-467

Cindy Sherman: Untitled # 167, 1985
http://www.af-moma.no/english/kunstnere/sherman_large_2.html
An article accompanies this photograph, but it is in Norwegian.

Cindy Sherman: Untitled # 10, # 32 og # 43, 1978-1979
http://www.af-moma.no/english/kunstnere/sherman_large_1.html
As noted above, an article accompanies these photographs, but it is in Norwegian.

Cindy Sherman
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/sherman_cindy.html
ArtCyclopedia.com entry


 

Up to Index

 

Jaune Quick-To-See Smith

"Jaune Quick-to-See Smith: racing with the moon."
Arts Magazine. Jan 1987, pp 82-3.

"Jaune Quick-To-See Smith: crossing the great divide."
Arts Magazine. Jan 1986, pp 54-5.

"Jaune Quick-to-See Smith at the Neuberger Museum."
Art in America. Nov 2001, p 155.

"Rain (Monoprint, 1993)."
Art in America. July 1993, p 24.

Juane Quick-to-See Smith MV 13101 Video Location: Media Office - lower level of library

Subversions/affirmations: Juane Quick-to See smith: a survey 759.1308 smith

I stand in the center of the good: interviews with contemporary Native American artists. 704.0397 I Stand

Jaune Quick-to-See Smith
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/smith_jaune_quick-to-see.html
Entry from Artcyclopedia.com.

National Museum of Women and the Arts: Artist Profile
http://www.nmwa.org/legacy/bios/bjqsmith.htm

Jaune Quick-To-See Smith
http://www.arts.arizona.edu/lastingimpressions/artistsqtssmith.html


 

Up to Index

 

Ramona Solberg

Halper, Vicki. Findings : the jewelry of Ramona Solberg 745.5942 HALPER

Example of her jewelry
http://www.fabricorigami.com/nwdc/jewelry/solberg.html

Exhibition
http://www.sfcraftandfolk.org/exhibits/020417-solberg.html
Examples and brief text

Exhibit notice
http://www.carolinaarts.com/102mintcd.html
brief article, no pictures



 

Up to Index

 

Mark Tansey

Mark Tansey.
759.13 tansey

The Picture in Question: Mark Tansey & the ends of representation
759.13 taylor

 

Up to Index

 

Jeff Wall

Jeff Wall/Thierry de Duve (Book) 770.92 wall

Jeff Wall--Biography and Links
http://www.the-artists.org/ArtistView.cfm?id=D9900FA6%2DC762%2D11D4%2DA93800D0B7069B40

Jeff Wall
http://www.carnegieinternational.org/html/art/wall.htm

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 675-676

Up to Index

 

Bill Viola

Art of Bill Viola 709.2 VIOLA

Bill Viola. 700.92 VIOLA

Bill Viola: The Passions 700.92 VIOLA

Going Forth by Day 700.92 VIOLA

Selected Works (videorecording) MV 1662
Shows four of Viola's most acclaimed video art works.

Video Art: An Anthology. 791.45 V669 p. 136-137

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 614-615

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plate 416 (p. 376-377)

Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 174, p. 162-163

Welcome to Bill Viola
http://www.billviola.com/
The artist's own site

Bill Viola
http://www.cnca.gob.mx/viola/

Bill Viola Online
http://www.artmuseum.net/viola2/fr_splash.html

Bill Viola on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/viola_bill.html

 

Up to Index

 

Emmi Whitehorse

Mixed Blessings 704.0693 L664M p.111

Lasting Impressions
http://www.arts.arizona.edu/lastingimpressions/artistswhitehorse.html

Shark's Ink Prints
http://www.sharksink.com/artists.asp?artists=27

Emmi Whitehorse
http://www.lewallenart.com/emwh.htm

Mixed-Media Memories
http://www.weeklywire.com/ww/12-01-97/tw_review1.html

 

Up to Index

 

How to cite sources in your paper

As with any other source you use, information found on Web sites must be cited and attributed. No one really agrees yet on the best method for citing electronic and Internet sources. The two most common citation styles--the Modern Language Association (MLA) and the American Psychological Association (APA)--have been modified and adapted to keep track of Internet sources:

MLA Style

Citing Sources
A collection of links, handouts, and class guides dealing with citing print and online sources in MLA style

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
A good general purpose handout from Purdue's Online Writing Center (OWL)

APA Style

Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the APA
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

 




Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu /guides/artistsPZ.stm
Last modified: Tuesday, June 02, 2009 .