SFCC Library Guide

 

Contemporary Artists


Introduction

The following artists are representative of work currently being done in the United States and abroad. Each entry includes links to samples of their work, and suggested bibliographic references. These are not comprehensive guides.

For all artists be sure to check art reference books such as:

  • The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes) R 703 DICTION
  • Contemporary Artists (starting with most current volume) R 709.22 CONTEMP
Also, check the online art dictionary: http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

To locate further information, please ask a reference librarian for assistance.

Artists currently included here:

If you are looking for information on artists not included here, or would like to suggest one to include, please let us know.

 

Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton: inscribing place.
Art in America. June 1999, pp 76-85+.

The body and the object: Ann Hamilton 1984-1996; Ann Hamilton: woven: Miami Art Museum;
Sculpture. Apr 1999, pp 70-2.

Scents and sensibility.
Art News. Dec 1998. pp 132-3.

Dissolving language: what the unreadable tells us about words.
Fiberarts. Jan/Feb 1997, pp 45-50.

Ann Hamilton: Ruth Bloom Gallery.
Flash Art. Oct 1994, pp 98-9.

Ann Hamilton: Tropos, 1993 (Book) 709.0407 hamilto
Breakthroughs: Avant Garde Artists in Europe and America 1950-1990. pp. 178-179, 208-213. 709.04 B74

“Indigo Blue” in Places With a Past: New Site Specific Art at Charleston's Spoleto Festival. pp. 70-77. 709.04 PLACES

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plate 419

Ann Hamilton--Biography and Links
http://www.the-artists.org/ArtistView.cfm?id=8A01F578%2DBBCF%2D11D4%2DA93500D0B7069B40

Art 21: Ann Hamilton
http://www.pbs.org/art21/artists/hamilton/clip2.html

Ann Hamilton: Guggenheim
http://www.guggenheimcollection.org/site/artist_works_61C_0.html

"Linings"
http://www.mcasd.org/exhibitions/permcol/artists/hamilton.html

"Privation and Excesses"
http://www.getty.edu/artsednet/images/Ecology/privation.html

"Multiples"
http://www.gregkucera.com/hamilton.htm
Some image links are broken, but others still appear

 

Up to Index

 

Jenny Holzer

Jenny Holzer 709.2 holzer joselit

Jenny Holzer: Truth Before Power 709.22 Holzer

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 611-612

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plate 417 (p. 378)

American Visionaries. 709.7307 WHITNEY p. 141

Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 104 p. 94

The Decade Show. 709.04 DECADE plate XXXV

Jenny Holzer on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/holzer_jenny.html

äda 'web | jenny holzer
http://adaweb.walkerart.org/context/artists/holzer/holzer0.html

"Ceiling Snake"
http://www.hamburger-kunsthalle.de/seiten/en_holzer.htm

Interview with Jenny Holzer
http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/2.02/holzer.html

 

Up to Index

 

Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn: Jamileh Weber.
Art News. Dec 2001, p168.

The feathered prison fan, der Eintanzer(1978). Artforum International. Summer 2001, p137.

Bees planetary map (Mixed media, 1998).
Sculpture. Nov 1998, pp 29

Rebecca Horn: Chorus of the locusts I and II, 1991;
Artforum International. Summer 1996, pp 88-9.

Rebecca Horn: delicacy and danger.
Art in America. Dec 1993, pp 58-67.

Rebecca Horn: the alchemist's tales.
Art News. Dec 1991. pp 94-9.
Rebecca Horn: drawings, sculptures, installations, films 1964-2006.
709.2 horn (Book)
Rebecca Horn, Cosmic maps
759 horn (Book)
Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 533, 601

Video Art: An Anthology. 791.45 V668 p. 70-71

Lucie-Smith, Edward. Art Today. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 154
Rebecca Horn--Biography and Links
http://www.the-artists.org
 
"The Contrary Concert"
http://www.dialnsa.edu/iat97/Sculpture/horn.html
Rebecca Horn
http://www.bartschi.ch/espace/horn.html
Page text is in French, with several photographs

"Untitled"
http://www.art-of-this-century.com/horn.htm

Entry from ArtCyclopedia.com
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/horn_rebecca.html

 

Up to Index

 

Anselm Kiefer

Anselm Kiefer: Heaven and Earth. 709.2 Kiefer

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plates 81, 101, 121, 385

Breakthroughs: Avant Garde Artists in Europe and America 1950-1990 709.04 B74 p. 139

Anselm Kiefer
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/kiefer_anselm.html

Works on Paper, 1969--1993
http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/KIEFER/el_kiefer_splsh.htm

Anselm Kiefer
http://www.artandculture.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/ACLive.woa/wa/artist%3Fid=64

Anselm Kiefer: Images and Biographical Information
http://www.artchive.com/artchive/ftptoc/kiefer_ext.html

 

Up to Index

 

Jeff Koons

The Jeff Koons Handbook. 709.2 KOONS

American Visionaries. 709.7307 WHITNEY p. 168
Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 1 p. 571

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plates 137, 158, 216

Art in the Eighties. 709.048 LUCIE-S p. 76
Edward Lucie-Smith. Artoday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 336, p. 308-312

"A Collection of Pictures"
http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/Exhibit/9929/koons/

Jeff Koons on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/koons_jeff.html

"St. John the Baptist"
http://www.staatsgalerie.de/frame.php?page=/de/sammlungen/gem/n45_koons.htm&logo=2

Jeff Koons
http://www.the-artists.org/eyestorm/koons.cfm

 

Up to Index

 

Wolfgang Laib

Wolfgang Laib A Retrospective
709.2 laib ottmann

Making the Ideal Real: A Conversation with Wolfgang Laib.
Sculpture. May 2001, p28-33.

Wolfgang Laib: Transcendent Offerings.
Art in America. March 2001, pp 88-95.

The Passageway: A Project for Artforum.
Artforum. April 1989, pp136-41.

Objects of Desire: The Modern Still Life. Plate 131 & text, p. 218-219 704.9435 ROWELL

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980. 709.04 MODERN Plate 197

Lucie-Smith, Edward. ArToday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 125

Wolfgang Laib--Biography and Links
http://www.the-artists.org/ArtistView.cfm?id=239B627E%2DC5CF%2D11D4%2DA93800D0B7069B40

"Reismahlzeiten"
http://www.ifa.de/a/a1/kunst/da1laib.htm
Page text is in German; see also Aussieben von Blütenstaub von Kiefern, 1999

The Monk and His Milk
http://www.thestranger.com/2001-03-08/art2.html

"Somewhere else - la chambre des certitudes" 1996
http://www2.odn.ne.jp/kenjitaki/artists_e/laib_e.html

 

Up to Index

 

Gary Lang

Gary Lang: Paintings and objects, 1975-1997
759.13 lang

"Exhibit---Michael Klein, Inc.; New York"
Art in America. v 82 Mar 1994. p. 96-7.

"Exhibit---Annina Nosei Gallery."
Art News. Oct 1989, p 206+.

"Exhibit--Mark Quint Gallery, San Diego."
Art News. Dec 1986, pp 27-8.

"Exhibit--Baskerville; Watson Gallery."
Arts Magazine. June 1984, pp 35-6.

"Mirrors"
http://www.artnet.com/ag/fineartthumbnails.asp?gid=484&cid=7293
See also http://www.artvault.com/1055/1057/10464/11199.asp and http://www.sfada.com/sfada/briangross/lang.html

Gary Lang
http://www.briangrossfineart.com/artists/glang/

Gary Lang
http://www.galeriezurcher.com/Z/lang.html
Click on images for larger views


 

Up to Index

 

Michael Lucero

Michael Lucero: Sculpture 1976-1995 (Book) 730.92 lucero leach
"Chimeras of Clay: The Work of M. Lucero."
Art in America. June 1997, pp 92-7.

"Sapphire (Glazed earthenware)."
American Ceramics. Spring 2000, p 1.

"Michael Lucero: Dorothy Weiss Gallery."
Sculpture. Mar 2000, pp 65-6.

"Michael Lucero: homage to ancient arts."
American Craft. Feb/Mar 1995, pp 32-7.

"Venus (1997)."
American Craft. v 58 no2 Apr/May 1998. p 31.

"Pink nude dreamer;1994."
Sculpture. May/June 1996, p 3.

"Conquistador & Lady with two curls."
Art News. Apr 1996, p. 12.

"Anthropomorphic jug form with leaping frog (1994)."
American Craft. Apr/May 1995, p 38.

"Zoomorphic (male dog teapot)."
American Ceramics. v.10 no.1, 1993, p 1.

Lady With Roots
http://www.kemperart.org/mlsie.htm

"Greek"
http://www.cmoa.org/html/art/frame3.htm

Michael Lucero: Sculpture 1976-1995
http://www.carnegiemuseums.org/cmag/bk_issue/1998/marapr/feat6.htm



 

Up to Index

 

James Luna

The Decade Show. 709.04 DECADE Plate IL

James Luna: Emendatio (Book) 700.92 luna lowe
Mixed Blessings. 704.0693 L664M p. 198

"Take a Picture With a Real Indian"
http://www.heard.org/education/resource/rna.html

"Half Indian, Half Mexican"
http://www.mcasd.org/exhibitions/permcol/artists/luna.html

Gallery
http://collections.ic.gc.ca/artists/luna_img.html

Chapel of the Sacred Colors
http://www.usask.ca/snelgrove/exhibit/002luna/01.html
Requires Flash plug-in

James Luna
http://www.northcounty.com/arts/luna.htm

 

Up to Index

 

Bruce Nauman

Bruce Nauman: Theaters of Experience 700.92 nauman

The Decade Show 709.04 DECADE Plate LVII

Art of the Twentieth Century. 709.04 ART OF V. 2 p. 604-605, 551, 552, 598, 615

Modern Contemporary: Art at MoMA since 1980 709.04 MODERN Plates 73, 94, 172, 213, 240

Lucie-Smith, Edward. ArToday. 709.045 LUCIE-S Plate 99

Bruce Nauman--Biography and Links
http://www.the-artists.org/ArtistView.cfm?id=239B627E%2DC5CF%2D11D4%2DA93800D0B7069B40

Entry from ArtCyclopedia.com
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/artists/nauman_bruce.html

Bruce Nauman
http://www.artnet.com/magazine/features/nauman/nauman11-26-96.asp
Article and illustrations

"Punch and Judy II Birth & Life & Sex & Death." ( 1985)
http://www.moma.org/collection/drawings/nauman_punch.html

"Vices and Virtues"
http://stuartcollection.ucsd.edu/nauman/

 

Up to Index

 

How to cite sources in your paper

As with any other source you use, information found on Web sites must be cited and attributed. No one really agrees yet on the best method for citing electronic and Internet sources. The two most common citation styles--the Modern Language Association (MLA) and the American Psychological Association (APA)--have been modified and adapted to keep track of Internet sources:

MLA Style

Citing Sources
A collection of links, handouts, and class guides dealing with citing print and online sources in MLA style

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
A good general purpose handout from Purdue's Online Writing Center (OWL)

APA Style

Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the APA
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

 




Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

 

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu/guides/artistsHO.stm
Last modified: Tuesday, June 02, 2009.