Article Databases
Click the triangle for description
|
|
|
General Purpose Databases (covering many topics)
|
|
|
|
One stop shopping: One Search allows you to search multiple databases from a single interface. Results might not be as complete as you get by searching each database's advanced search features, but a time-saver when searching for many topics.
|
|
|
|
Search for articles in magazines, newspapers, and professional journals. Includes the full text of many articles. ProQuest is provided jointly by SFCC and the Washington State Library, and funded in part with Federal LSTA funds.
|
|
|
|
A full-text database of more than 5,990 periodicals, mostly peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content as far back as 1887.
|
|
|
|
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
|
|
|
|
Full-text pro- and con- coverage of numerous topics. Can be browsed or searched. Also provides some access to magazine and journal articles.
|
|
|
|
eLibrary provides full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, book excerpts, and transcripts of selected television broadcasts. Electric Library is provided jointly by SFCC and the Washington State Library, and funded in part with Federal LSTA funds.
|
|
|
|
Full-text academic journal articles in a variety of subject areas; JSTOR provides access to older journals, and is not used for the most current journal issues.
|
|
|
|
Over 16,000 tracks of jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, narratives, and other styles reflecting African American musical contributions.
|
|
|
|
Some 50,000 songs relating to all aspects of American life, ethnic groups, and time periods. Includes songs about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys, Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, hymns, humorous songs, college songs, sea shanties, shape note songs and more.
|
|
|
|
An index of journal articles on art topics including art history, film, photography, fine arts and graphic design. Includes full-text of many articles.
|
|
|
|
ARTstor is a searchable database of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
|
|
|
|
The Chronicle of Higher Education offers news of interest to educators and adminstrators.
|
|
|
|
CINAHL includes full text articles from over 600 nursing & allied health journals. Coverage dates back to 1981.
|
|
|
|
A database of over 50,000 tracks of classical music recordings for listening and learning.
|
|
|
|
Approximately 50,000 tracks covering genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, traditional music, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
|
|
|
|
Comprehensive, country specific information about political, economic, cultural, business and environmental information can be found in the Country Reviews®. Current news wire reports can be located for each country via the Country Wire®.
|
|
|
|
Video files on a variety of topics, including careers, health, language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, visual and performing arts, and world languages. NOTE: USE OF THIS RESOURCE currently REQUIRES a separate user account. Please go to www.discoveryeducation.com to set up an account. The Passcode is: E671 A88A
|
|
|
|
Due to Pandemic H1N1 Influenza (formerly known as Swine Flu) and concerns about the 2009/2010 flu season, the EBSCO Publishing Medical and Nursing editors of DynaMed™, Nursing Reference Center™ (NRC) and Patient Education Reference Center™ (PERC) have made key influenza information from these resources freely available to health care providers worldwide. The editorial teams will monitor the research and update these resources continuously throughout the upcoming flu season.
|
|
|
|
The Educational Resources Information Center database (ERIC) consists of professional journal articles and unpublished research documents for all areas of education. Most items found must be obtained from other libraries.Indexing only for journal articlesfull text is available for many ERIC documents. See also the parent site, www.eduref.org for more information.
|
|
|
|
Contains 9 databases of journal articles and books, such as ArticleFirst, ECO (scholarly journals), Medline, WorldCat, WorldAlmanac and more.
|
|
|
|
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
|
|
|
|
Jazz Music Library will be the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
|
|
|
|
Features more than 10,000 plot summaries and synopses, 75,000 articles on literary topics, 130,000 author biographies, 500,000 book reviews, more than 7500 novels, more than 300 literary journals, 11,000 short stories, 25,000 poems, and 3000-plus full-text author interviews, plus 1000 images of literary figures.
|
|
|
|
Literary Reference Center Plus will offer all the same great features as Literary Reference Center but with these new enhancements:
• Over 1,000 additional full text literary reference books/works
• Over 100 additional full-text literary journals and magazines
• 35 volumes of new contemporary titles from Salem Press
• 40 full-text literary study guides covering American & English literature and genres
• 74 literary videos pertaining to classic works
|
|
|
|
The MarketLine Business Information Center is a research tool to gain a greater understanding of different markets and the issues major companies are facing. It presents in-depth professional analysis in an easy-to-digest format, covering companies, industries and countries.
|
|
|
|
Allows you to search our music listening databases from a single interface.
|
|
|
|
Access to Medline, the National Library of Medicine's medical journal indexes. More powerful searching is available through the (much more) difficult to use Entrez interface. Indexing onlyfull text not provided.
|
|
|
|
NetLibrary eBooks are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles. Click for a complete list of available titles.
|
|
|
|
Research Starters™ - Sociology provides students with a solid foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview information on topics relevant to their studies. Comprehensive summaries of discipline-specific topics help students to grasp the broad outlines of a subject, realize its real world applications, critically engage it, and locate sources for advanced research. Articles average 3,000 words, providing concise yet more in-depth content than most textbook or encyclopedia entries.
|
|
|
|
Science Reference Center contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
|
|
|
|
An encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions with representation from over 160 countries. Includes a wide range of musical genres including American folk, American Indian, bluegrass, blues, classical, country, jazz, old time music, spoken word, and more.
|
|
|
|
Easily generate maps and charts using US Census data as well as other sources; useful for assignments in sociology, geography, history, etc.
|
|
|
|
Rituals, cuisine, folktales, music and dance, religion and beliefs, traditional arts and crafts and more.
|
|
|
|
allows you to search by subject area for periodicals available at SFCC Library. If you already know which journal or magazine you want, you can search whether SFCC has it in print or electronically
|
|
|