Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Indexes
If you have trouble reaching any of these databases during our normal hours of operation, please call the reference desk (533-3834 or 1-800-251-1972).

After hours you may try AskUS 24/7 for assistance. IEL students can also seek help through the IEL help page. SFCC students can seek help through the SFCC Help page.

Online Reference Books and Subject Encyclopedias
Databases of Newspaper, Magazine, and Research Journal Articles

Use the folowing databases to find articles and research reports. These are equivalent to articles found in print magazines and journals, and are far better than random web pages listed in Google.

General Purpose Databases (covering many topics)
One Search
One stop shopping: One Search allows you to search multiple databases from a single interface. Results might not be as complete as you get by searching each database's advanced search features, but a time-saver when searching for many topics.
ProQuest
Search for articles in magazines, newspapers, and professional journals. Includes the full text of many articles. ProQuest is provided jointly by SFCC and the Washington State Library, and funded in part with Federal LSTA funds.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a full-text database of more than 5,990 periodicals, mostly peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content as far back as 1887.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Opposing Viewpoints
Full-text pro- and con- coverage of numerous topics. Can be browsed or searched. Also provides some access to magazine and journal articles.
eLibrary
eLibrary provides full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, book excerpts, and transcripts of selected television broadcasts. Electric Library is provided jointly by SFCC and the Washington State Library, and funded in part with Federal LSTA funds.
JSTOR
Full-text academic journal articles in a variety of subject areas; JSTOR provides access to older journals, and is not used for the most current journal issues.
Specialized Databases
African American Song
Over 16,000 tracks of jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, narratives, and other styles reflecting African American musical contributions.
American Song
Some 50,000 songs relating to all aspects of American life, ethnic groups, and time periods. Includes songs about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys, Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, hymns, humorous songs, college songs, sea shanties, shape note songs and more.
Art Index
An index of journal articles on art topics including art history, film, photography, fine arts and graphic design. Includes full-text of many articles.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Access The Chronicle of Higher Education for news of interest to educators and adminstrators.
CINAHL
CINAHL includes full text articles from over 600 nursing & allied health journals. Coverage dates back to 1981.
Classical Music Library
A database of over 50,000 tracks of classical music recordings for listening and learning.
Contemporary World Music
Approximately 50,000 tracks covering genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, traditional music, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Country Watch
Comprehensive, country specific information about political, economic, cultural, business and environmental information can be found in the Country Reviews®. Current news wire reports can be located for each country via the Country Wire®.
Discovery Streaming Videos
Video files on a variety of topics, including careers, health, language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, visual and performing arts, and world languages.
NOTE: USE OF THIS RESOURCE currently REQUIRES a separate user account. Please go to http://www.discoveryeducation.com/ to set up an account. The Passcode is: E671 A88A
ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center database (ERIC) consists of professional journal articles and unpublished research documents for all areas of education. Most items found must be obtained from other libraries.Indexing only for journal articles–full text is available for many ERIC documents. See also the parent site, http://www.eduref.org/, for more information.
FirstSearch Indexes
Contains 9 databases of journal articles and books, such as ArticleFirst, ECO (scholarly journals), Medline, WorldCat, WorldAlmanac and more.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Literary Reference Center
Features more than 10,000 plot summaries and synopses, 75,000 articles on literary topics, 130,000 author biographies, 500,000 book reviews, more than 7500 novels, more than 300 literary journals, 11,000 short stories, 25,000 poems, and 3000-plus full-text author interviews, plus 1000 images of literary figures.
MarketLine
The MarketLine Business Information Center is a research tool to gain a greater understanding of different markets and the issues major companies are facing. It presents in-depth professional analysis in an easy-to-digest format, covering companies, industries and countries.
NLM Gateway (Medline)
Access to Medline, the National Library of Medicine's medical journal indexes. More powerful searching is available through the (much more) difficult to use Entrez. Indexing only–full text not provided.
netLibrary
NetLibrary eBooks are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles. Click for a complete list of available titles.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Smithsonian Global Sound
An encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions with representation from over 160 countries. Includes a wide range of musical genres including American folk, American Indian, bluegrass, blues, classical, country, jazz, old time music, spoken word, and more.
Social Explorer
Easily generate maps and charts using US Census data as well as other sources; useful for assignments in sociology, geography, history, etc.
World Folklore and Folklife
Rituals, cuisine, folktales, music and dance, religion and beliefs, traditional arts and crafts and more.
E-Journal Portal– allows you to search by subject area for periodicals available at SFCC Library. If you already know which journal or magazine you want, you can use the form below to see whether SFCC has it in print or electronically:
1

Library Home | Catalog | Magazine Indexes | Internet Resources | About the Library | Other Libraries | Core Book

For comments or questions about this page contact SFCC Reference Desk

URL: http://library.spokanefalls.edu